When everything falls in place.

I am all set to travel to Bombay (will not call it by any other name). Travelling to Bombay gives me nightmares, these days. Simply because it gets very tiring and the crowd seems to have doubled since I left Bombay. The crowds, the smoke and the vehicle traffic are maddening. One day this city was mine; but now, I feel like a stranger here.

100_2754A photo displayed at the Kalaghoda Fair, Feb 2011

100_2757One of the many old British time buildings at Fort area, now converted into a library. (Bad photo quality. It was during this trip I realized that its time to replace my camera)

Nonetheless, the thought of meeting my kiddo cousin has brightened me up. I have been going over the weekend Bombay plan in my mind again and again. Today morning I mentally tick off the items on the to-do list. Tickets have been printed. The gifts collected. Clothes to be taken selected. Camera battery charged. Everybody informed at work. Somehow, everything has fallen in place. My ticket has got confirmed. The colony auto was available and I booked it, at the last minute, to take me to the station early morning tomorrow. All the gifts and my stuff have been neatly packed. While I was all jittery about the tour a few days back, I can’t believe that all the planning has really gone well! In fact, I have some spare time at my disposal that I am able to sit and write this!

A packed schedule has been made. This weekend break is actually going to be the busiest of all the weekdays. I have the shopping to do (jewellery for my Oz cousins), movie (Kung Fu Panda-2. And the Caramel Popcorn that undoubtedly will accompany us during the movie) and the fun project of painting on canvas shoes (something that we’ve been planning since 3 months now) with my cousin.

Such mini breaks are required. They rejuvenate us and complete the aspects of our life that remain unfulfilled and incomplete in our daily busy lives. It’s important that we enjoy these breaks without worrying about the work back home.

Categories: Bombay / Mumbai, India, Travel | Tags: , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “When everything falls in place.

  1. I never been to Bombay, I always see from movie their people so beautiful especially the woman….but wish one day I can fly over there.

    Truly Asia
    Ms.Littlewing
    http://littlewingdestinaytions.blogspot.com

    • Hello Ms. Littlewing. Please do some and experience this spice called Bombay !! You are most welcome.. Let me know when you plan.. I will guide you!!

  2. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  3. During my short stint in MAdras, I visited a war cemetery for a story and saw similar situation. Only a tad bit worse. The place had horrible drainage and was drowning. The graves were 6 feet under-water!

    Makes me wonder how these spaces where we honour soldiers, warriors and family members will be decades from now.

    Lovely post. 🙂

    • Graves underwater is such a sad thing. why cant we maintain our history? i do find old buildings and architecture very memerizing. Graveyards have something in them, right??

  4. Sorry. Accidentally posted it in the wrong post. 😐

    • Thats just fine, no problem. Thank u so much for taking so much time and reading thru my blog !!

  5. about graveyards. so true. Even old buildings and history. It marks where we came from. somehow i think we give it much less importance than we should. 🙂

    my pleasure indeed. your blog is great 🙂

  6. Pingback: Me and my homes–Part 1: Bombay | My bittersweet world

  7. Pingback: The Magic Of Doors & Windows « Therefore I travel

  8. Pingback: Aditi | My bittersweet world

  9. I like this post of yours. I am from Bombay too and no I will not call it by any other name. I don’t there anymore is a different story.

    • Thanks 🙂 Finally someone who also believes Bombay will always remain Bombay. Mumbai sounds so alien!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

