Oh Calcutta

I am spending sleepless nights since a few days. Not because I am worried about something. But because I am SO excited! I am always excited when I am leaving for a new destination – on holiday or otherwise. Isn’t it lovely when travel opportunities just land up on your lap? Yeah! It just happened with me! I and my roomie, E, have been planning for and talking about our Calcutta trip (which starts day after tomorrow) since 4 months! Sounds crazy, doesn’t it? But true.

I have experienced this earlier too. That more than the actual travel, planning for a travel is fun. And this proved me right now too. I have been telling everyone about it and E’s family is all excited about we visiting their hometown and they are all set to take us around. Travel is fun when you pick and choose what you want to see specifically and that too with a local. E’s family is based at Calcutta and I left the whole plan to her.

The focus of the tour is food. What else can one expect from a foodie? There’s going to be lots of sweets like Rasgullas and Malpuas and Mishti Doi and delicacies like Chelo Kebab and Biryani. We’ll be hitting old bakeries (Flurries & Kookie Jar) and cafes (Coffee House). Oh my. I am drooling already. Food is a greed I can never overcome. I lose all my willpower when it comes to sweets or spicy Indian stuff.

Since I love old buildings and heritage architecture, we will be visiting the Marble Palace and basically going crazy clicking around the city. Calcutta presents an amazing mix of local culture, colonial history and influence from other countries. With my keen observing & atypical deduction sense, I will be looking at Calcutta with a distinctive angle.

I am also getting the opportunity of visiting a typical Bengali family. We will be visiting E’s grandmother’s place, which is in a town near Calcutta. Her family has used the instance of Rakshabandhan & long weekend for a family reunion. So, what would I be doing? Sitting back and enjoying the show!

How can girls miss shopping on a trip? And so, trip to the China Market, Book Street and sari shops is planned too.

Our bags are packed. Day wise schedules make. What to be worn on each day has been decided. The camera battery is being charged to its fullest. And Facebook status has been updated. I look at the calendar everyday waiting for 12th August to arrive when we will leave for Ahmedabad to catch a flight to Calcutta. Any points for guessing what I would be busy doing all through the trip? Writing and recording each and every moment, of course!

Categories: Calcutta, India, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Oh Calcutta

  1. I discovered your blog site on google and check a few of your early posts. Continue to keep up the very good operate. I just additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking forward to reading more from you later on!…

  2. Lovely blog about Calcutta, being born and brought up in Calcutta I haven’t gone where you have been. Truly fantastic. This city like all other heritage cities has its charm and culture, but somewhere I feel people are tired of history and lag behind in modernization. After heritage and progress hardly goes hand in hand unless you make a conscious effort. Good Blog. I have read your Mexico blog too, beautiful frames you have over there too. Subscribing you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

