Off… Again

Have I mentioned before? I love airports. They are busy, lively and bring with them excitement of a new, unknown destination that you would be seeing in a few hours. There is an excitement in everything – holding passport and ticket in your hand, pushing the luggage trolley, getting your items checked, getting stamping done on boarding pass.

After coming to USA 4 months ago, this was my first air travel. And this time, I wasn’t alone. I was off on a mini vacation with my husband, At.

Every person, who travels a lot, develops his style. What he does with his wait time on the airport, and how he travels generally, probably reflects his nature. I, for that matter, do have a definite pattern. I finish security check quickly and then roam around the whole shopping area, entering mostly book and souvenir stores to browse (I never buy other stuff but do pick up a book sometimes). By that time, I decide where I want to eat. I pick up my food and coffee and sit by the transparent wall, watching planes land, take off and taxi.

This is what I did this time too. Only, it was fun doing it with a companion.

And so, we board the plane with our Chicken Barbeque sandwiches and my excitement increases.

At had taken a window seat for me, which is what I always too. But unlike usually, I did not get a place above the wing, which was very fortunate. We took off from SJ in a shaky take off and were soon over the city, watching roads and buildings that lay in a very organized fashion. I watched the land below, my forehead pushed against the window, till clouds showed up and I could see nothing.

That’s when I turned to reading books on my tablet.

We reached Houston after a 4 hours flight. The airport was chaotic and crowded – a colorful mix of nationalities and professions. The food court enticed me to different outlets, making it more difficult for me to choose. I went in for Italian ultimately.

A Stromboli and Pizza piece in hand, I was whisked off to the boarding gate. And here comes the best part. I had been fooled. We weren’t going to Galveston, Texas, as At had informed me. We were going to Cancun! A big big surprise for me! I did not know how to react till the plane took off. I was too amazed and touched. At had planned this whole trip as a gift to me.

After this new fact sunk in, I started imagining about all the exciting things that we could be doing in Mexico.

Mexico. Boy!

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Off… Again

  1. Bon Voyage ! Have a great trip πŸ™‚

  2. Aww…Hug At from my end. That was very sweet of him. As usual, loved your post NS πŸ™‚ Could almost feel your excitement!

  3. That was really sweet of him πŸ™‚ Want more posts on what you saw and experienced in Mexico and also more pics πŸ™‚

    • I know! He spent ages planning the whole thing and carefully tailored all the stories he told me!

      I will be writing lots.. Am so excited to write about Mexico!

  4. Wow. Mexico does sound so very exotic! πŸ™‚

    I can’t imagine how exciting it would be to have someone plan a surprise trip for you, without revealing the destination to you till the last minute! πŸ™‚ Lucky you! πŸ™‚

  5. You should read The Art of Travel by Alain de Botton.. I love the way he describes airports in his book. He makes them sound so out of ordinary and after reading I realised how we miss teh beauty in simple things!
    I loved the idea of a surprise destination. Btw I’m surprised.. don’t you need a visa for Mexico? How did he manage to keep it a surprise from you and still get a visa on your passport? unless you are a US citizen now! πŸ™‚

    • Hey Ashima.. I would try and get hold of this book..

      Well, Mexico has Visa on arrival. And from what I saw, there is no ‘visa’, just a stamp during Immigration.. So thats why the surprise worked out !!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

