My Trusty Travel Companion

IMG_20140122_215732

The bag that travelled 10 countries and uncountable cities with me

This bag has been with me for 3 years now. I bought it before my Australia trip (Has it only been 3 years since that trip? Seems like a decade ago). Since then, it has been with me on all my travels. Sometimes I travelled alone, sometimes with friends and sometimes with family. This bag was never left behind.

I totally take this bag for granted. It’s there. Period. It goes with me everywhere. But come to think of it, I am heavily dependent on it. I CANNOT leave it behind. I can’t even think of it.

My first job involved lot of travel. Every time I travelled, I forgot something essential like toothpaste or contact lens solution, etc. I would go looking for an open medical store late night only to find that everything in the area was closed. After I got this bag, things changed. I made this my permanent travel bag and kept a set of essentials in it. Things like toothpaste, toothbrush, moisturizer, perfume, hair clips, body wash, etc.

And so, every time I need to travel, I just put some clothes in and I am good to go.

Not only has this bag been so loyal to me – stuck along with me without tearing, breaking or giving away, it has come to my rescue whenever I was stuck at airports with extra check-in baggage. I have stuffed it with all kinds of stuff and it is still intact. I have used it roughly, it has lost its original shine. But it still ‘backs’ me up (Pun intended).

I owe this bag a lot. It facilitated and enabled my travels. Without it, I would not have seen 10 countries. Without it, I will not see any new place.

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “My Trusty Travel Companion

  1. When we travel often, it’s only easier to keep certain regular travel kit items in them so its easy to dump some clothes and go off to travel. We have a similar affinity towards our backpack which we’ve been using for close to 4 years now. It just makes me wonder how such small things play such an important part of our life, isn’t it?

    • Hey Anu. I agree with you. Regular travelers must do this and make their life easy. And then, cherish their loyal travel bags!

  2. Dear NS, Ihave always loved travelling but barely got a chance to. Now I am planning a few trips with the family but was a bit confused as to how I should prepare myself for the vacation. Your blog entry has been very useful to me. Thanks.

  3. Hey NS,
    When are you bringing this backpack over? Can’t wait for you guys to visit us. 🙂

  4. I am still in the process of setting up my permanent travel bag. Considering that I am just a budding traveller, I have only just realised the benefits of having such a bag by your side. 🙂

    Love the look of your bag. What brand is it? What brand would you recommend if I had to buy one for myself?

    • Mine is Samsonite. Haven’t tried any other. I totally vouch for this one.

      Start compiling a travel bag. No harm in compiling it now even though you travel less. You never know when you are supposed to go and you don’t have time to organize!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

